Challenge 2: POP goes the world

So this week was an extremely hectic week for me. Somehow the Matt Dusk challenge crossed over into this week. Like the previous week, I felt that I bit off more than I could chew.

Sometimes I have difficulty saying “no” to people.

I ended up accepting a bunch of cowrites without considering that I had other obligations in my life. My best friend was getting married and he needed me to help him prepare…I literally had no time to write.

A big part of me feels bad because I wasn’t able to complete some of the co-writes. For the unfinished ones I felt the guilt slowly creeping in…I’m really sensitive when it comes to letting people down.  Like other areas in life, I’m learning you can’t make everyone happy…

Contemplated doing some all nighters to finish some of the projects but I realized I had to take a step back and maintain balance in my life…

On Saturday evening I decided to step back from the co-writes and write a song on my own just to challenge myself. I was really happy about it…

The next day I had a co-write session with Judy. I didn’t know what to expect. She basically had her song ready and sang it to me. I was awe-struck. Judy’s voice and melodies were so beautiful I got goosebumps. We threw some ideas back and forth on how to lay the song out and what to add and subtract. I got to working. I feel like we had a lot of chemistry and that really brought that magical feeling of co-writing. When you have two people who get each other, everything is so much more simple. I get in the zone when that happens. I know the people who are reading this who share that co-writing bond with me will understand. *cough* AHI, Adriana

All that being said, I shouldn’t complain. Every co-write I do makes me a better writer and person. Even if I can’t write with everyone for these challenges.. I want to keep in touch with as many people in this group so we can cross paths in the future!

So here it is…my submission for week 2’s challenge.

Sour Taste

Lyrics:

verse 1

Hate you for what you did to me

Heart broke i’m living with the memories

you’re like     gum in my hair

I can’t pull you AWAYy

Loved you more than you loved me

verse 2

kissed you way too easily

prince charming in my fairytale

But fairytales ain’t   real

Prechorus

Don’t wanna hear your name for while

Don’t wanna lay eyes on that smile

Just wanna move on… move on..But

Chorus

YOU LEFT THAT SOUR TASTE IN MY MOUTH

THAT SOUR TASTE IN MY MOUTH

YOU LEFT THAT SOUR TASTE IN MY MOUTH

AND I GOTTA GET IT GET IT…GET IT GET IT GET IT OUTTTT

Verse 3

can’t fall in love with other boys

without out sensing cruel in tensions

Keep seeing you at every turn

guess I need an intervention

2 thoughts on “Challenge 2: POP goes the world

Leave a comment